Have you seen the little piggies?


Oh my, I am in love with 6 piglets!  One of our sows gave birth last Thursday at dinnertime.  I had been watching her all day- building her nest, grunting, smashing her rear end into the corner of the pen (That was near the end. I think we Moms know it as transition- ugh.) Right before we sat down to eat with our friends that were there as a birth team/cheerleaders, Jonny and I decided to go look in on Bertha (who was givin’ birth-a) and there was the cutest little face staring up at us, still wet and covered with caul.  They came about every 2o minutes and I was ridiculously hands on (I’ve never some this before and I was worried they would get smooshed during labor).  Of course, they didn’t actually need me, but I don’t regret anything.  I sat in the pen, watching one come after another, while my friend Michael re-read me parts of Storey’s Guide to Raising Pigs.

They are so soft.  We were amazed at how instantly wiggly and active the little creatures were.  They were on a mission to get milk- I mean A MISSION.   I didn’t get any shots that night, but here are some from the next couple days. They were instantly given names- hard not to, but probably not the best idea, if you know what I mean.

I bet you can barely stand it.
This entry was posted by nicoleblum.

5 thoughts on “Have you seen the little piggies?

  1. That is awesome! I can’t wait to read more about your adventures in farming! We are hobby farmers too and we have raised and mostly eaten one cow. We have another cow in the pasture now along with some pets (1 horse and 3 miniature donkeys) and three sheep who are being raised for their wool. Next spring we hope to get chickens.

your thoughts here

