Embroidery is FUN! Pigs are CUTE!

Most importantly is this:

They were born early this morning without me watching (sad). It was a large litter of 14, but it looks like we will have a dozen at the end of the day. This is our second time going through the farrowing process and we were very lucky last time – had no problems at all. This time the mom doesn’t like us around and she stepped on 2 piglets before we ever came out to check – fatally injuring one and seriously injuring another who can’t seem to make it to the occupied teats. one was born still. So, as you can imagine, it is bittersweet. I am loving the beautiful and noisy squealing piglets who are so funny and sweet to watch, but the other stuff hurts and is complicated. Sorry I didn’t just share the pretty parts, but I’m in it, hence, so is anyone who will listen (even if unwittingly).

But, here is the pretty to gaze upon!!! Love them!

Image

I’m doing my best to stay away for part of the day. I’ll let the mama take care of things for now. So, while that is all happening out there, I will show you what I have been doing with some of my time. It is very simple and straightforward, I am happy to report.

Embroidery. It satisfies the same part of me that used to love knitting in the round (and when I say knitting, I mean just that – no purling). Relaxing, textural, colorful, pretty – all these things. Also, I can do it anywhere – the car, the sofa, on the beach, in an airplane. And I have been. Mostly, I have been stitching for color and texture, not pictorially. I have embellished necklines and seams, as well as the corners of these tea towels, and I love them. I can talk and stitch and watch un-subtitled movies and stitch. Really, you should give it a go. Here are some I have done recently:

An assortment of tea towels in a rope bowl I will talk about sometime soon.

An assortment of tea towels in a rope bowl I will talk about sometime soon.

The one I did on the beach at Craftcation. The design was given to me by Amy Tangerine.

The one I did on the beach at Craftcation. The design was given to me by Amy Tangerine.

I am also preparing for another trip to Denver next week to film an episode with Sew It All TV. Janome Sewing Machine is sending me out there for this. For anyone who has ever asked me about sewing machines, you will know that I LOVE MY LITTLE JANOME SEWIST and have loved other fancier models even more when sitting in the various shops that carry them. So, I am thrilled and honored to be representing them when I head out to teach a very simple and fun little tank top workshop. I’ll let you know when it airs. And if you missed it before, Debra and I taught a Reverse Applique Skirt from the book that came out on Sew It All Tv this winter – Applique Away, was the title. If your PBS station has Sew It All Tv (mine doesn’t, sadly) then you should be able to watch it. It will available online at some point too. We were a part of season 4 and this next one will be a part of season 6. They spent ample time on my hair and make-up, which was both fun and alarming. The project will be for something like this:

only without this rad fabric, which is one of a kind.

only without this rad fabric, which is one of a kind.

This entry was posted by nicoleblum.

One thought on “Embroidery is FUN! Pigs are CUTE!

  1. Those little piggies are adorable!
    I couldn’t agree with you more about embroidery. There’s something about hand sewing that satisfies me deeply. I’ve been captured by a project that I can’t wait to complete, only to move on to another.

your thoughts here

