Sewing School 2 Book Review + Giveaway

One of the perks of being a Storey author is that you get handed loads of gorgeous and worthy books to read and use.  With “creative self-reliance” as the backbone of their philosophy, they couldn’t be publishing books that are more interesting to me – farming to preserving to sewing – or done more beautifully.  So, when we were asked to review Sewing School 2, I did not hesitate to say yes. I knew I wouldn’t be disappointed and, if course, it is a subject that is near and dear. I remember walking into the Storey office back when we were working on Improv Sewing and seeing Sewing School placed prominently on the reception desk, so it really brings up great memories – of course I walked out that day with a copy in my stack of books and LOVED it.

First, the design of the book screams out for kids to pick it up and use it. It feels like a very genuine display of an actual sewing school where kids are creating with abandon and having a blast – who wouldn’t want to sew when it looks so simple and fun? Mission accomplished, gals!

I teach sewing to kids (I know how fun it is to watch them succeed on the machine – empowering!) and really appreciated their approach. I got the sense just from reading Sewing School 2 and all of the little tips highlighted in the pages, that they keep it easy and fun and drive the important lessons home with simple and straightforward reminders. In particular, I love how the tip to help kids avoid having their sewing thread get sucked back up into the machine – no one wants to re-thread their machine every time they start. Full disclosure: I fled the hot New England weather for a few days and took my computer but forgot the book, so that tip really stands out in my mind, but I can’t quote it or tell you the page it is on. What I can tell you, is that besides forgetting to put the foot down before sewing, the biggest annoyance to any sewist of any age, is not leaving long enough tails when you cut your threads, so the next stitches you try to make are foiled by the disappearance of the sewing thread. In any case, Sewing School 2 lays out the great habits from the get-go, and that is no small thing.

Before leaving on this mini vacation, Harry(my 8 year old) and I braved the hot studio and whipped up a snack bag in no time at all. It was great! There was a pattern so he didn’t have to measure, and directions he could follow himself . He found an old pillow case that I bought in Paris over a decade ago to use and I was so happy to have it being used for something I will see regularly.

It is about 95 degrees, but we are going to sew!

Harry looks through the book and picks out the snack sack project.

Wrapped in a beautiful old pillow case that he is about to cut up, Harry cuts out the pattern piece.

Using chalk to mark the fabric – his choice.

Cutting out the fabric.

Sewing up the bag was a breeze!

Sticking on the self-adhesive velcro dots.

It is done! I swear this took about 10 minutes to make and we can never have too many snack bags around here!

If your kids want to learn to sew, I wouldn’t hesitate to add Sewing School 2 to your shopping bag. You can be as involved as you want, or let your kids feel the empowerment of making stuff on their own. Great book!!!

Update!!! I completely forgot that we have a copy of Sewing School 2 to give away! If you are interested in taking part, simply leave us a comment here and I will do one of those random number generators on July 18th and let you know if you are the lucky one. You do need to be a U.S. citizen – sorry. Good luck!

Evelyn, you are the winner! Email me at colieblum1@gmail.com with your address and we will get that book to you ASAP!

This entry was posted by nicoleblum.

15 thoughts on “Sewing School 2 Book Review + Giveaway

  1. This book looks great. So far I have taught my granddaughter, a niece, and a nephew how to make a pillowcase. I welcome more ideas and skills to share with them.

  2. I have a friend who has a studio where kids learn all kinds of things including sewing! If I won I would hand this book to her and benefit a BUNCH of creative kids! Cool Book!!!!

  3. I’ve been waiting for our library to buy this one! It does look well-done. Would love it for my own 8-year old (daughter). Thanks for the peek, and the chance to win it!

  4. Looks great. My girls are 4 and 5 and I wonder if they would be able to use the sewing machine. It would be so much fun to show them how to work one. I hope someone does a sewing machine giveaway soon 🙂

  5. Yes, Please! Sign me up! I’ve recently taken up sewing again and would so love to get my daughter into it, as well. This looks like a book that would be good for both of us – a refresher for me and a starter for her. I will also check out the first book. Thanks for sharing it!

  6. I would love to have this book to teach my 6 year old daughter. I just bought her her first sewing machine and I’ve been looking for some easy to understand projects for her. Thanks for the chance to win!

  7. Argh! just saw this today. I do follow your blog, but agree, I think more updates would bring some of the traffic back!
    Good luck!

your thoughts here

